Letters to the Editor

Tue 9 Jul 2019

Tax cuts were nothing but a cynical ploy to buy votes

premium_icon Tax cuts were nothing but a cynical ploy to buy votes

We have the most inexperienced Treasurer in memory in Josh Frydenberg who wouldn't know how to play Monopoly.

Mon 8 Jul 2019

Readers divided over Civic Space project

Readers divided over Civic Space project

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Fri 5 Jul 2019

I met the astronauts half-a-century ago

I met the astronauts half-a-century ago

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Thu 4 Jul 2019

Do you know these hi-vis heroes?

Do you know these hi-vis heroes?

Road workers come to the rescue of couple stranded on the Pacific Highway

Wed 3 Jul 2019

Get behind the cultural and civic space

Get behind the cultural and civic space

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Mon 1 Jul 2019

If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

premium_icon If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

If we all stop slaughtering cattle and sheep in Australia based on today’s numbers, we'd have in excess of 26 million cattle to feed and 70 million sheep.

Mon 24 Jun 2019

Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

premium_icon Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

'Israel Folau is copping stick from some for seeking public donations - but this issue is bigger than just Folau'

Mon 17 Jun 2019

Speed is causing roundabout truck crashes

Speed is causing roundabout truck crashes

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

premium_icon Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

Sending them to jail does no good, because when they get out they just re-offend. I think the punishment should be made to fit the crime.

Thu 13 Jun 2019

History of the bypass planning

History of the bypass planning

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Mon 10 Jun 2019

Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

premium_icon Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

WHAT would you like for lunch? Meal worms, flies, maggots or crickets? Yes, it’s true. They may well be the food of the future.

Thu 23 May 2019

There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

premium_icon There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

SO THERE’S now two reported incidents of gel blasters aimed at people. It makes one bristle at the thought of anyone’s eyes being damaged in any way.

Mon 20 May 2019

Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

premium_icon Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

At pre-polling in Toowoomba last week, this letter writer spoke to an LNP member who was concerned about how much acting on climate change will cost.

Sat 18 May 2019

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

The Advocate has been inundated with election letters.

Sun 12 May 2019

OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

premium_icon OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

I am not remotely interested in Mr Shorten's family, what his parents were or how they lived.

Fri 10 May 2019

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

"AS A partner of an interstate heavy vehicle driver my biggest fear every time he walks out the door is he won’t be coming home again."

Mon 6 May 2019

AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

premium_icon AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

An open letter to Australian politicians and councillors - you are missing one very important environmental policy in your election promises

Wed 1 May 2019

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

'There are a lot of people getting rich on the back of mining projects but it's almost never the people who live in the vicinity of them.'

Tue 30 Apr 2019

Is netting a black and white issue?

premium_icon Is netting a black and white issue?

Is it an issue of science, supply or cost? Readers ask the question of the industry.

Wed 24 Apr 2019

Morrison fake and fiction

Morrison fake and fiction

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Newer Older