Coffs Harbour’s senior State League teams are in Tamworth tonight.
Coffs Harbour’s senior State League teams are in Tamworth tonight. TARUM IMAGES

Tough start to season for the Suns

THE tin shed at Tamworth is never a nice place to play basketball at anytime.

The one-eyed crowd there makes plenty of noise and it echoes around the stadium to make any visiting team feel like it’s taking on more than just five players on the court.

Coffs Harbour’s State League teams face that challenge tonight as the men’s and women’s teams begin their respective 2011 campaigns against the Thunderbolts.

A quirk of the draw actually means that the task ahead of the Suns won’t be as daunting as it usually is though.

The Northern Junior League will also be playing in Tamworth this weekend, meaning that there will be plenty of Coffs Harbour juniors on hand to offer their support and perhaps drown out the local noise.

The men’s team face a double-header weekend as they also face Armidale on the road tomorrow.

SUNS WOMEN’S DRAW

Sat, Mar 26 - Tamworth Thunderbolts (a)

Sat, Apr 9 - Ballina Breakers (a)

Sat, Apr 16 - Bellinger Valley Braves (H)

Sat, May 7 - Tamworth Thunderbolts (H)

Sat, May 21 - Bellinger Valley Braves (H)

Sat, Jun 4 - Newcastle Hunters (a)

Sun, Jun 5 - Newcastle Hunters (a)

Sat, Jun 18 - Ballina Breakers (H)

Sat, Jul 16 - Ballina Breakers (a)

Sat, Jul 23 - Tamworth Thunderbolts (H)

Sat, Aug 6 - Newcastle Hunters (H)

Sun, Aug 7 - Bellinger Valley Braves (a)

SUNS MEN’S DRAW

Sat Mar 26 – Tamworth Thunderbolts (a)

Sun, Mar 27 – Armidale Lions (a)

Sat, Apr 2 - Port Macquarie Dolphins (a)

Sat, Apr 9 - Ballina Breakers (a)

Sat, Apr 16 - Grafton Vikings (H)

Sat, May 7 – Tamworth Thunderbolts (H)

Sat, May 14 - Port Macquarie Dolphins (a)

Sat, May 21 - Grafton Vikings (H)

Sat, Jun 4 - Armidale Lions (a)

Sat, Jun 18 - Ballina Breakers (H)

Sat, Jul 16 - Ballina Breakers (a)

Sun, Jul 17 - Armidale Lions (H)

Sat, Jul 23 - Tamworth Thunderbolts (H)

Sat, Aug 6 - Grafton Vikings (a)

Sun, Aug 7 - Port Macquarie Dolphins (H)

SUNS YOUTH DRAW

Sun, Apr 3 - Power Red (H)

Sat, Apr 9 - Cessnock Cobras (H)

Sat, Apr 16 - Maitland Mustangs (H)

Sat, May 7 - Central Coast Crusaders (H)

Sat, May 14 - Port Stephens (a)

Sat, May 21 - Cessnock Cobras (H)

Sun, May 22 - Maitland Mustangs (H)

Sat, Jun 18 - Power Blue (H)

Sat, Jun 25 - Power Blue (a)

Sat, Jun 25 - Power Red (a)

Sun, Jun 26 - Central Coast Crusaders (a)

Sat, Jul 2 – Port Stephens (H)

Sat, Jul 16 - Power Blue (a)

Sat, Jul 16 - Power Red (a)

Sun, Jul 17 - Central Coast Crusaders (a)

Sat, Jul 23 - Port Stephens (H)

Sat, Aug 6 - Maitland Mustangs (a)

Sun, Aug 7 - Cessnock Cobras (a)



Last shout-out to Coffs kids

Last shout-out to Coffs kids

Entries for Saturday's bcu Coffs Kids TRI close on Tuesday.

Army Thunder dig deep for charity match win

Army Thunder dig deep for charity match win

Thunder forced into finding something special in charity match.

Ice cool Boutier in charge at Bonville

Ice cool Boutier in charge at Bonville

French golfer builds five stroke lead in Australian Ladies Classic.

Local Partners