Surfers attacking the big waves at Sawtell


MORE than one hundred surfers attacked the waves in the tenth Barney Miller Classic at Sawtell main beach on the weekend but it was James Athorn who emerged from the ruck to win his second consecutive tournament.

“I told him he's won it so many times he'll have to put the Classic logo permanently on his board,” event figurehead Barney Miller suggested.

Athorn edged out rising star Otis Carey by 0.5 of a point in a desperately fought final.

Both youngsters relegated the 2006 winner Gareth Budge into third position with Matt Wyborn in fourth spot.

“It's been a big weekend and I think everybody will be happy for the break to catch up on some sleep,” Miller said.

“One of the highlights was having Mick Fanning arrive on Friday and the kids loved that. He spent some time at the auction and handing out tips, so it's been something to remember.”

Athorn won $2500 cash with his victory and over $30,000 worth of prizes were distributed with proceeds this year to assist injured surfer, Darren Longbottom.


2008 Division Winners

Open Male - James Athorn

Open Female - Angela Keighran

Over 28 Men - Matt Wyborn

Over 40 Men - Jason Flanagan

Under 16 Boys - Phoenix Graham

Under 18 Boys - Justin Turk

Under 18 Girls - Coco Beedy