The Coffs Coast Advocate

Sawtell secure pennant

SAWTELL'S grade four lawn bowls pennant side swept aside the disappointment of 2008 when they secured the 2009 district pennant against West Coffs at Park Beach Bowling Club on Saturday.

Last year Sawtell secured a 6-0 result in their final preliminary round only to be beaten by one point for the district flag by Urunga who went on to contest the State play-offs.

The 65-55 aggregate score victory on Saturday saw Sawtell take two of the three rinks contested.

Featuring many of the players from the 2008 side, the Sawtell team has been boosted this year by the inclusion of grade two players from the previous year, Marty Beerman, Craig Griffiths and George Fisher.

Fisher won his rink and Griffiths was victorious in his match while West Coffs won their only rink against Bill Meadows.

Sawtell established a good buffer early in the sectional play-off and throughout the middle stages maintained a break of between 10 and 16 shots.

The win proved to be a memorable one for Sawtell team member Jim Blaikie who had to wait 13 years before securing that elusive district flag and no-one was happier than manager Tom Bartlett.

Geoff Peake, president of the Mid North Coast District Bowling Club and a proud Sawtell president was on hand to present the district flag and player badges in conjunction with Park Beach Men's Bowling Club president, Jim Gorman.

Sawtell selectors will now sit down and select a team for the Zone 14 final against the winners of the Lower North Coast district grade four.

This match is set down for Urunga Bowling Club on Sunday, May 31 in conjunction with the grade one, two and three Zone 14 play-offs.

Stuarts Point will meet Coffs Ex-Services in the play-off for the district grade two flag at Urunga on Saturday, May 2.

In their final round, Stuarts Point secured the southern section with a win over Nambucca Heads.

Although there are still three weeks of competition remaining, West Coffs (grade three), Urunga (grade five) and Park Beach (grade seven) are looking good for their district flags.

District fours

PARK Beach meets Woolgoolga in the final of the district fours competition at Sawtell on Sunday from 9am.

Col Pritchard, Jim Swan, Rob Dudgeon and Wayne Rowbottom reached the final with wins over Glen Wedlock from Urunga and Stuart Hartigan from Park Beach.

Shayne Dodd, Alex Lee and Rex Holloway won through to the final defeating Ian Machon from Urunga in the quarter-finals and another Woolgoolga team skipped by Mark Delamere in the semi-finals.

In club competition at Sawtell on Saturday, 2008 major pairs runners-up Nigel Lamond and Paul Parramore have reached another final after winning their semi-final 20-12 over Greg and Ray Cridge.

The other semi-final on Sunday sees Alan McFayden and Shane Podesta up against Peter Clarke and Ian Weldon.

Council supports plans for bypass redesign

premium_icon Council supports plans for bypass redesign

We are liaising with the government to seek clarity around timings

Police officers shot in head and neck in fatal domestic

premium_icon Police officers shot in head and neck in fatal domestic

Police officers shot during domestic incident in Northern NSW