Craig Foster.
Craig Foster. SBS Television: The World Game

Fostering North Coast football

WITH respected football commentator Craig Foster as the guest of honour, North Coast Football made sure that they wrapped up their 2008 season with a dash of style.

While most of the 200-strong crowd on Saturday night were there to see who was crowned as the competition's creme de la creme, there was no doubting that numbers were swelled by those interested to hear what the charismatic SBS frontman had to say.

His message was loud and clear – football is coming and it will one day be the number-one code in the country.

He also pointed out to those present that if Australia is to win the World Cup in 2030, then decisions that are made today need to be made with the six year olds in mind as the biggest priority.

Foster's reasoning for this thought is these kids will win the World Cup trophy for the Socceroos in 22 years' time.

With these words ringing in the ears, the attention then turned towards the award winners for the evening.

By far the most popular victory on the night was that of Lee Winkler being voted as the Men's 1st Division Best And Fairest Player by the referees.

The Northern Storm midfielder's acceptance speech was just as entertaining as anything Foster dished up.

Coffs United's Nicole McVicar was the referees' pick as the best player in Women's 1st Division.

Boambee's Brady Parker and Urunga's Belinda Moore predictably won their respective Golden Boot awards which were awarded for the first time while Woolgoolga made a clean sweep of the Coach of the Year awards with Garry Hender and Boris Svryznjak picking up the gongs.

David Morgan was named as the competition's top referee while Maclean Bobcats picked up the coveted Club of the Year award in their debut season in the top flight.


Best and Fairest (as voted by referees)
Men – Lee Winkler (Northern Storm)
Women – Nicole McVicar (Coffs United)

Golden Boot
Men – Brady Parker (Boambee) 24 goals.
Women – Belinda Moore (Urunga) 32 goals

Referee of the Year (as voted by club management)\
David Morgan

Coach of the Year (as voted by club management)
Men – Garry Hender (Woolgoolga)
            Boris Svryznjak (Woolgoolga)

Player of the Year (as voted by club coaches)
Men – Luke France (Sawtell)
Women – Kristy Hosking (Woolgoolga)

Club of the Year (as voted by NCFZ management)

Tourism success story: A Coffs must see attraction

Tourism success story: A Coffs must see attraction

Coffs tourist attraction welcomes 100,00th visitor

The $2b system doomed to fail

The $2b system doomed to fail

Australians are opting out of My Health Record

Luxury apartments setting new benchmark

Luxury apartments setting new benchmark

The first residents of the new Seashells complex have moved in.

Local Partners