Captain Steve Smith gets new team for short games

HIS appointment as Australia's next Test captain is seen as a formality, with Steve Smith already annointed as skipper of the squad to take on England in a T20 and five ODI games following the Ashes series.

Selectors confirmed Smith would captain Australia in the short-form games, handing him a new-look squad that includes batsman Joe Burns (pictured), all-rounder Marcus Stoinis and spinner Ashton Agar.

The trio is among seven players called into the squad from the successful Australia A tour of India.

Pacemen Mitch Johnson and Josh Hazlewood will be rested, while Aaron Finch (foot) and James Faulkner - who was recently fined and had his licence suspended in England for drink-driving - were left out.

SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), Ashton Agar, George Bailey, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitch Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner, Cameron Boyce (T20 only).

Topics:  cricket joe burns steve smith t20