Ingleby impressive in longboard victory

EMERALD BEACH surfer Harley Ingleby outclassed a star-studded field for an outstanding win in the opening round of the Suzuki Pro Longboard Tour at Macauley's Beach. Competitors were treated to excellent three feet plus conditions and with an international field of surfers competing, spectators enjoyed a complete display of longboard surfing. Making full use of any waves that came his way Ingleby used every inch of his board to snatch a narrow victory with 17.96 points out of a possible 20, from Dave Simons, 17.3. Internationally ranked Jye Byrnes (third with 17.16) and Josh Constable (16.96) had a mighty tussle as they contested the minor placings. Emerald Beach surfer Harley Ingleby made the most of his local knowledge to take out the second semi final from current Australian amateur champion Josh Constable. Coffs Harbour's Cameron Hiscox caused a minor sensation by winning both the World Surfaris/SaMoana Resort nine foot amateurs and the Under 18s. Hiscox used a full repertoire of moves as he walked up and down the board at every opportunity to keep Wollongong surfer Jayce Pioli second with WA's Rahn Goddard third. A 360 helicopter maneouvre and some great longboarding by Bryce Young, 14, saw him capture second place behind an extremely talented Hiscox in the Under 18 final. Cath Perry (Port Macquarie) had the waves come her way in the women's division to win from Santa Barbara's Amie Zelcer. Melissa Combo (Ballina) surfed her way into third while Tessa Davidson (Ballina) recovered from a nasty gash when her board hit her in the face on the Saturday, to finish fourth. Round 2 of the Suzuki Pro Longboard Tour will be at Mandurah (WA) on April 16-17. Results Suzuki Pro: 1st Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach), 2nd Dave Simons (Crescent Head), 3rd Jye Byrnes (Newcastle), 4th Josh Constable (Noosa). Noserider: 1st Oliver Shaw (Rockhampton), 2nd Jesse Jerems (Noosa), 3rd Mitch Sheehy (Walliby Point), 4th Jared Neal (Coffs Harbour). World Surfaris/SaMoana Resort 9ft: 1st Cameron Hiscox (Sawtell), 2nd Jayce Pioli (Wollongong), 3rd Rahn Goddard (City Beach), 4th Robbie West (Sawtell),5th Kevin Holt (Wollongong), 6th Danial Strinza (Cottesloe). Women: 1st Cath Perry (Port Macquarie), 2nd Amie Zelcer (California), 3rd Melissa Combo (Ballina), 4th Tessa Davidson (Ballina), 5th Jodie Barsby (Crescent Head), 6th Selby Riddle (Coolangatta). Under 18: 1st Cameron Hiscox (Sawtell), 2nd Bryce Young (Yamba), 3rd Chris Watt (Suffolk Park), 4th Brett Kelly (Byron Bay). Over 35: 1st Robbie West (Sawtell), 2nd Billy Tolhurst (Coffs Harbour), 3rd Dion Harris (Currumbin), 4th Reid Johnson (Noosa), 5th Dick Smith (Rainbow Bay)6th Trevor Skinner (Yamba). Ebanc Over 45: 1st Russel Watts (Suffolk Park), 2nd Mike Pimm (Currumbin), 3rd Mark Ingleby (Emerald Beach), 4th Ric Chalmers (Cabarita).

REJOICE: QLD border to open for Coffs Coast residents

Premium Content REJOICE: QLD border to open for Coffs Coast residents

MP welcomes news but says reopening has come ‘a few months too late’

Residents say creek build-up puts Bluff Bridge at risk

Premium Content Residents say creek build-up puts Bluff Bridge at risk

It's a dam all beavers would be proud of but it's got Glenreagh residents...

‘Highly significant’: Coffs Creek development hailed

Premium Content ‘Highly significant’: Coffs Creek development hailed

Coffs Harbour Aboriginal organisations lauded as tourism body puts cultural tourism...