Hall blitzes field in Alan Buchan Fours

A LOCAL side skippered by Phil Hall has dominated from start to finish to claim the first prize in the annual Alan Buchan Fours event played at the Park Beach Bowling club on the weekend.

With the help of team mates Wayne Rowbottom, Terry Kadwell and 2006 Zone 14 Player of the Year Col Pritchard, Hall won all four games convincingly, with the huge 46-shot margin in the third round the catalyst for the runaway victory.

With the weather turning out to be absolutely glorious despite a horribly wet lead-up, 36 teams took to the greens, with the upsets beginning right from the first round, most notably the defending champions from Inverell suffering a sizable loss in their first encounter.

At the close of play on Saturday only eight teams remained undefeated with Anthony Clark's Woolgoolga side leading narrowly on margins from Hall and Graeme Richardson's North Beach team.

The third round proved to be decisive, with only five sides remaining unbeaten and Hall making his charge to the top of the leaderboard, opening a 35-shot buffer to their nearest rival, Clark, Richardson and Woolgoolga's Greg Snowball, set to battle for second place.

Another comfortable victory sealed the tournament for Hall, Clark and side having to be content with the runners-up tag this time.

Richardson's defeat of Snowball in the final round saw him claim third and removed the latter from the money.

Host club Park Beach was happy, claiming four of the eight prizemoney positions, with Sawtell teams claiming the minor placings.

Alan Buchan was on hand to present the winners of the event with their first prize of $2000, and commended tournament organiser Vic Watkins, green-keepers Ric Southam and Dave Hyde and all other helpers on a tournament well run.

The bowls focus will now turn to the first of the state events for 2007, being the Mid North Coast Fours, which commences this Sunday again at Park Beach.

Full results:

1st: W Rowbottom, T Kadwell, C Pritchard, P Hall (Park Beach) 4 wins + 88 shots.

2nd: W McMillan, P Smith, D Brown, A Clarke (Woolgoolga) 4 wins + 48.

3rd: W Dean, R O'Keefe, M Delamere, G Richardson (North Beach) 4 wins + 41.

4th: B Clay (Park Beach) 4 wins + 25.

5th: R Farmer (Park Beach) 3.5 wins + 10.

6th: D Wood (Park Beach) 3 wins + 42.

7th: A Watkins (Sawtell) 3 wins + 36.

8th: W Meadows (Sawtell) 3 wins + 32.

Man accused of gunning down Nim Ngata appears in court

premium_icon Man accused of gunning down Nim Ngata appears in court

The ex-Nomads bikie, better known as 'Nim', was on bail at the time.

Foxtel to launch Australia's first 4k channel

Foxtel to launch Australia's first 4k channel

Australian cricket fans will be among the first to benefit

Bales for Bendemeer: Coffs Hotel calls for help

Bales for Bendemeer: Coffs Hotel calls for help

Coffs Hotel holds fundraiser to bring food, hay to farmers.

Local Partners